Reasons I love Kansas City, #4: Cocktails

Bomb pop martini, Harry's Country Club

I love a good cocktail. Especially one that’s slightly sweet and/or fruity and made with vodka. My Kansas City cocktail experience began the night of my 21st birthday. The night before our flight to Las Vegas, my stepmom and I stopped at Kelly’s Westport Inn so I could legally order an amaretto sour and Jell-O shot. From there, I’d like to think my cocktail tastes have grown more sophisticated, but I will never be able to resist the lure of Kelly’s Jell-O shots, especially when they’re topped with a dollop of whipped cream.

Jolly Rancher, Harry's Country Club

Some of my best Kansas City memories involve cocktails–post-work happy hours over La Bodega’s sangria, Firefly’s raspberry limeade with which to toast birthdays, a bottle of Prosecco at Czar Bar purchased to commemorate my book proposal’s acceptance. Cocktails generally lead to some sort of revelry, and my experiences have been no exception.

Ace Pear Cider, McCoy's

The best part of Kansas City’s cocktail scene is its diversity. Want a reasonably priced glass of beer? Try a dive bar like Buzzard Beach. Prefer a cocktail that’s part liquid libation, part work of culinary genius? Head to the mixologists at Firefly or Manifesto (although during Manifesto’s sabbatical, follow Ryan and Beau to various Kansas City locations as part of the traveling cocktail club). Craving an icy, salty margarita? Check out Baja 600 and be sure to grab a seat on the patio. No matter your preference, Kansas City has a cocktail for you. Raise a glass, sip, enjoy, and don’t be afraid to order seconds. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

