Out to lunch: La Bodega

Confession time: I like to go out to lunch. A lot. I usually prefer company, but the great thing about lunch is it’s a perfectly fine meal to enjoy alone–and as long as I have a book or some other reading material, I’m a happy girl.

After battling a nasty cold for several days, I emerged during today’s glorious spring weather for some desperately needed fresh air and a view of something other than my loft. After several minutes spent driving aimlessly around downtown, I arrived at my lunch destination: La Bodega, a Spanish restaurant on Southwest Boulevard that specializes in tapas and some of the best sangria in town.

I knew I was in for a good meal–in my opinion, La Bodega never disappoints. Yet I was unprepared for the mouthwatering excellence found in each bite of gambas a la plancha. Translation? HEAVEN. Rich, garlicky shrimp tempered with the subtle tang of red pepper resulted in an explosion of flavors so good that I shamelessly sponged the remaining olive oil from the plate with a slice of crusty bread.

Two glasses of raspberry iced tea and an order of albondigas caseras (meatballs in a spicy garlic cream sauce) later, I left La Bodega sated and happy, ready to conquer an afternoon meeting and the rest of the day. If you’re in the neighborhood, be sure to stop by. I’ll be waiting, tapas and sangria at the ready. Cheers!

2 responses to “Out to lunch: La Bodega

  1. Oooh, lovely!!!! I must try some of their sangria 🙂

Leave a Reply

