Life and times of a freelance writer

I mentioned in my Vegas post that my full-time job had come to an end. And although it was bittersweet to see LV Mag and The Dot close after more than two years, I’ll confess I’m terribly excited to strike out on my own as a full-time freelance writer. And yes, you have my permission to check back in four to six weeks to see if I’m still spouting this much enthusiasm. Here’s hoping I haven’t turned to the vodka by then 😉

My days are now spent producing copy and stories for various KC and national outlets, including online publishing model KCFreePress.com, which has garnered quite the following despite it being just a few months old. So far my clips include an event preview and today’s feature, which examines how Kansas City businesses are using social media to their advantage–and why this strategy can be crucial to success.

I’ve got a few things on my plate to finish, but I’m back at the point where I’m needing to pitch stories or–gasp!–send out queries. I had lunch with a fellow freelancer on Monday and we agreed that query letters are a special form of torture (although I will gladly lump them in with cover letters!) Freelancers out there, feel free to chime in with your thoughts!

Hope you enjoy the stories, and that things in your life are going well! As long as I’m going down the road of shameless self-promotion, here’s where I’ll remind you that my first book, Moon Kansas City, will be released March 30. If you’re on Facebook, won’t you stop on by and join the party?

Cheers!

2 responses to “Life and times of a freelance writer

  1. I agree! Query letters are a challenge. I just started freelancing and sometimes I’m not sure of where to start.

    One of the things that has helped me is my background in PR. I did a lot of pitching to publications for clients. That has helped me get my brain going for pitching my own stories publications. What’s better is that I don’t have a client running the agenda!

  2. If you need some extra freelancing income, you should check out http://www.demandstudios.com– they were a lifesaver when I was just starting to freelance and had barely any clients! Most articles are $15.

Leave a Reply

