Saturday in the City

One of my favorite things about living in the River Market is being a short walk away from the City Market. On Saturday I began my weekly tradition of stocking up on produce, bread, spices, flowers and whatever else catches my fancy–or appetite!

Combine that with one of my other favorite things, taking photos with the Instagram app for iPhone, and you’ve got the makings of a great day.


There are no words for how much I love this city. What a gorgeous skyline!

Imagine my delight when I stumbled across my favorite flower, the incredibly fragrant lilac! I told the cheerful vendor that I thought it was way too early for lilac blooms, but he said the recent warm weather had encouraged their growth. These will be on my must-purchase list until they’re out of season!

Other than that, R. and I attended an amazing wedding on Saturday night (congratulations C&J!) and spent the weekend planning–and implementing–our Great Loft Reorganization of 2011. It’s going to be a lot of work, but the results will be worth it — and we’ll have an excuse to throw a party!

Hope you had a great weekend, too – isn’t springtime in Kansas City the best?!

4 responses to “Saturday in the City

  1. What a great post! I think sometimes we take our own cities for granted and this reminds me of the great place we live! Thanks for that!

    • Hey sunshine! Lovely to see you on my humble blog! Yes, I agree – I have a bad habit of getting caught up in what I’d like to change about KC, or the larger cities that I love dearly. But KC is amazing, and sometimes I don’t think I give it enough credit, hence the occasional love letter ;) It helps when the weather cooperates! Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. What makes spring in Kansas City so special for me is the fact that it lasts. I left Kansas City in 1983 to live in the Chicago area for 23 years. Only when I returned, did it occur to me what I had missed. I had gotten used to snow covered tulips and frost stunted apple blossoms. There, spring comes and goes with the speed of an elevated train. A mere blur between winter and summer. Chicagoans don’t do a lot of landscaping for spring. That’s asking for heartbreak. Here, colors pop and thrive for weeks, turning the town into a huge Monet canvas. You are right, Katy. It is awesome.

  3. ooooh you are making me miss my old home Katy. XO thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

